filter plus icon

Over 30 Flooring Products Now Cradle to Cradle Silver Certified

Our sustainable engineered wood flooring products

We are excited to announce a number of our engineered wood flooring products across the Venture Plank and all the Hand Grade Collections are now Cradle to Cradle Certified.

What is Cradle to Cradle Certification?

“Cradle to Cradle Certified™ is a globally recognized measure of safer, more sustainable products made for the circular economy.

Product designers, manufacturers and brands around the world rely on the Cradle to Cradle Certified Product Standard as a transformative pathway for designing and making products with a positive impact on people and planet. From fragrances to flooring, t-shirts and jeans to water bottles and window treatments, thousands of products are Cradle to Cradle Certified. What’s more, a growing number of brands, organizations and standards also recognize Cradle to Cradle Certified as a preferred product standard for responsible purchasing decisions.

Currently in its third iteration, the Cradle to Cradle Certified Product Standard is rooted in the Cradle to Cradle® design principles established by William McDonough and Dr. Michael Braungart. Standard requirements are developed through a stakeholder engagement process with input from technical experts, market leaders and the public. Version 4 of the Cradle to Cradle Certified Product Standard will be available in draft form for public review and comment in summer 2019.

“To receive certification, products are assessed for environmental and social performance across five critical sustainability categories: material health, material reuse, renewable energy and carbon management, water stewardship, and social fairness. A product is assigned an achievement level (Basic, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum) for each category. A product’s lowest category achievement also represents its overall certification level. The standard encourages continuous improvement over time by awarding certification on the basis of ascending levels of achievement and requiring certification renewal every two years. ” Extract from

Cradle to Cradle Certified™ Assessment Categories

Each certification level represents increasingly rigorous achievement across five critical performance categories: Material Health, Material Reutilization, Renewable Energy and Carbon Management, Water Stewardship, and Social Fairness.

Material Health

The material health category helps to ensure products are made using chemicals that are as safe as possible for humans and the environment by leading designers and product developers through a process of inventorying, assessing and optimizing material chemistries. As a step towards full certification, manufacturers may also earn a separate Material Health Certificate for products that meet Cradle to Cradle Certified™ material health requirements.

Material Reutilization

The material reutilization category aims to eliminate the concept of waste by helping to ensure products remain in perpetual cycles of use and reuse from one product use cycle to the next.

Renewable Energy & Carbon Management

The renewable energy & carbon management category helps to ensure products are manufactured using renewable energy so that the impact of climate changing greenhouse gases due to the manufacturing of the product is reduced or eliminated.

Water Stewardship

The water stewardship category helps ensure water is recognized as a valuable resource, watersheds are protected, and clean water is available to people and all other organisms.

Social Fairness

The aim of this category is to design business operations that honor all people and natural systems affected by the manufacture of a product.

What is Cradle to Cradle Silver Certification?

A product receives an achievement level in each category — Basic, Bronze, Silver, Gold, or Platinum — with the lowest achievement level representing the product’s overall mark. In addition to the Bronze level requirements, all products certified Silver under Version 3.1 must meet the following requirements:

Version 3.0

Material Health

  • The product has been at least 95% assessed (by weight) using ABC-X ratings.  Externally Managed Components (EMCs) are considered assessed and contribute to the overall percentage of the product that has been assessed.  Products that are entirely Biological Nutrients in nature (e.g., cosmetics, personal care, soaps, detergents, etc.) must be at least 100% assessed.
  • The product contains no substances known or suspected to cause cancer, birth defects, genetic damage, or reproductive harm (CMRs) after the A, B, C, X assessment has been carried out.

Material Reutilization

  • The product has a Material Reutilization Score that is ≥ 50.

Renewable Energy and Carbon Management

  • For the final manufacturing stage of the product, 5% of purchased electricity is renewably sourced or offset with renewable energy projects, and 5% of direct on-site emissions are offset.

Water Stewardship

  • Product-related process chemicals in effluent are characterized and assessed. OR
  • Supply chain-relevant water issues for at least 20% of Tier 1 suppliers are characterized and a positive impact strategy is developed (required for facilities with no product-relevant effluent).

Social Fairness


  • Material specific and/or issue-related audit or certification relevant to a minimum of 25% of the product material by weight is complete (FSC Certified, Fair Trade, etc.). OR
  • Supply chain-relevant social issues are fully investigated and a positive impact strategy is developed. OR
  • The company is actively conducting an innovative social project that positively impacts employee’s lives, the local community, global community, social aspects of the product’s supply chain, or recycling/reuse.

Learn More here

Learn more about our Certifications

Next Article

← Back to News + Advice

Elevate your interior with VidaSpace. Contact us and one of our team of trained interior designers will be able to guide you through the process.